Tutorial: pallet sofa part 1

I got a couple of comments and likes to my first post. Whoa – how awesome that someone actually read my blog?!😀 After I got over my initial surprise, I realized Mckenzie from Why Buy it? DIY it. had a great point. I should definitely do a tutorial on the sofa! I’ll start with the bones and do another tutorial for the cushion.

I’ve had the pallets for a while. They have been a coffee table and a head board at my previous home. I found them from somewhere, sanded the outer surfaces and put a thin coat of Osmo Wax in white on them to keep them from yellowing. It’s not necessary to do anything with the surface if you don’t feel like it, I just thought they were a bit too rough for furniture use as they originally were.

The pallets I have are the EUR kind, which measures 80×120 cm. I wanted the sofa to be max 2 meters in width, so I figured I’d make a J-shaped sofa, since that fit my space best. Word of advice: it’s much easier to sew a cover for a simple rectangular cushion. If you don’t absolutely need a weird shape on the sofa or aren’t comfortable sewing, go simple!

The legs are simple, white square metal legs from Bauhaus. I wanted a comfortable seating height, and since the cushion and pallet add a lot, I went with 20 cm legs.

This is how I layed out the pallets, legs and the steel plates that connect the 2 pallets.

IMG_3631

There’s a long piece of laminated wood that I had sitting around. It’s there to give my sofa structural stability when there’s more people on it. It was creaking before I added that, so I figure it might be a good addition.🙂

IMG_3632

This is a close-up on the steel plate and also some smaller pieces that I had around. The corner pieces are Ikea kitchen cabinet hanging things, if I’m not mistaken. Ikea parts are versatile… I’m a big fan of IKEA Hackers ;)

IMG_3634

You might need to add some bits and pieces to make the parts fit. I had to put small supports under the beam on the other pallet, so it would support the  top boards. This will totally depend on the type of pallets and other parts that you use, and you’ll most likely just have to figure it out as you go.

IMG_3635

So here we go! This should give a DIY-minded person a pretty good overview of the supporting structure of my sofa, but if you need more instruction or photos, don’t hesitate to ask! I don’t have any official training in carpentry or woodworking – I’ve learned by trial and error, and asking for advice and help when I needed them.🙂

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: pallet sofa part 1

Leave a Reply

